top of page

Birthday Bash

Updated: May 25, 2022


Photo Courtesy: Shaira Nicole Santillas


I used to dream about how it feels to have a special someone to spend your birthday with. I even could picture receiving flowers or him buying me cake where I could blow my wish. But, out of all days on the calendar, why did it have to be on my most awaited day?


Counting the days before I entered another stage of my life, I wondered how this day could soon turn into a precious memory.


It was on the 15th of March, 2022; I was turning 20. The moment the clock struck exactly 12:00 midnight, I was expecting a long sweet message from my favorite person—but I did not receive one. My first thought was him plotting a surprise for me.


Three years and 11 months, to be exact. We used to be each other’s company and comfort as if the world only revolved around us.


I looked at my reflection in the mirror, wearing my dress inspired by the movie “13 going on 30”. I couldn’t be any happier with the thought of celebrating a special day with him.


All the significant people in my life were in the room, except for one person—my boyfriend.


Tons of greetings were overwhelming, but just when I was about to sleep, I didn’t know how a single notification could make me feel numb.


It wasn’t a birthday message but rather an apology for the bad news awaiting. I received screenshots of the conversation of my boyfriend flirting with other girls using another account I was not aware of.


At first, it wouldn’t sink in. That night was the most crucial. I didn’t get enough sleep as images of him cheating on me kept haunting me whenever I closed my eyes.


By the crack of dawn, I asked him if he was still using his other account, but he denied it. That was when I realized that he had been lying to me all along, but I was too naive.


That time, I’d had enough. I officially ended our almost 4-year relationship.


I sighed, trying to distract my mind and keep my half-smile reminiscing about my 20th birthday party.


Another year, a new beginning. Losing a significant person in life was never easy. But for me, this was the greatest yet most painful birthday gift I have ever received in my entire existence.


Komentar


bottom of page